You are here

Unveiling the plaque (left to right) is Nathan Schinderle, former superintendent Linda Yonke, member of plaque committee Nancy Birnbaum Blake and Logan Weaver April 29 at New Trier’s Winnetka campus. Schinderle and Weaver are president elect and president of Tri-Ship, respectively. Photos by Lois Bernstein/22nd Century Media
The new plaque honoring New Trier Township High School founders, in which was revealed April 29 at the Winnetka campus.
Observing the speeches and dedication (left to right) former school board member Patrick O’Donoghue, Diana Scheeler, of Northfield, former New Trier teacher Jim Marran and Sharla Luken, national chair of Service to America Committee and NSDAR National Society Daughters of the American Revolution.
Hilary Anderson, Freelance Reporter
1:57 pm CDT May 2, 2019

Five local civic leaders had something in common. They were the founding members of New Trier Township High School.

It was their commitment to education and a legacy that was honored April 29 at a Founders Plaque Revealing Ceremony at New Trier Township High School’s Winnetka’s campus. 

The five men were Wilmette’s Rev. William Netstraeter, Merritt Starr and Dr. Byron Stolp; Winnetka’s James M. Johnson; and Glencoe’s General Charles H. Howard.